Hunter Education

Hunter Education

NYS Hunter Education:


2024 Date:

April 13th, 8 AM to 5 PM

The NY Hunter Education course (Hunter Safety course) is required to purchase a hunting license in New York. The course covers the necessary safety techniques and responsibilities that a hunter must know when using a gun, muzzleloader, crossbow or bow to pursue wild game.

In-Person, Instructor-Led Hunter Educa​tion Course

You must register for in-person, instructor-led courses. Check back often as new courses are added each week. Most courses are offered between March and September.  All in-person courses are free.

*Do not wait until just before the hunting season to take a class. We hunt also.

All In-Person Hunter Education Courses require:

1. The completion of homework prior to attending an in-person course. Proof of completed homework must be brought to the in-person course. The homework can take several hours to complete.

2. Participation in an in-person course that is a minimum of 7 hours in length. These courses may be scheduled for one full day or split up into several shorter time frames over several days.

Register for an In-Person, Instructor-Led, Hunter Education Course

Register for a Hunter Education Course (leaves this website). You must attend the entire in-person instruction portion of the course on the date(s) and at the location indicated on the course schedule listing.

Homework and Study Materials

Choose one of the following ways to obtain the study materials and complete the required homework. You must bring the completed homework with you to an in-person course.

Note: If you completed the online hunter education course, you should bring your certificate to the in-person course as proof of completion of homework. No additional homework is needed.


Course Topics Covered

  • Firearm and crossbow handling and safety techniques
  • History of firearms
  • Knowledge of firearms and ammunition
  • Proper gun handling and storage
  • Marksmanship fundamentals
  • Hunting laws and regulations
  • Principles of wildlife management and wildlife identification
  • Outdoor safety
  • Hunter ethics
  • Hunter responsibility toward wildlife, the environment, landowners, and the general public

Age Restrictions/Requirements

Students must be 11 years or older to take this course (Note: In New York State the minimum age to hunt is 12-years old).

Students under 16 years old must have a signed permission slip (PDF)  (Ctrl + Click) from a parent or legal guardian to allow for the handling and shooting of a firearm during this course.

For more information from DEC, go to:


(Photo courtesy of NYS DEC)